The unknown

“Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation”
– Eat pray love

d-01

There is something safe about things you know. Whether we’re talking about insignificant things like a dancing routine you know or the inbox of my e-mail address or something meaningful like still being able to spend time at your grandmother’s (one of them is 92 and the other one is 80).
It feels good, because it was there with you when things were completely different, some of it (like visiting your grandmother’s) has been there all the way, you know what to expect from it and you enjoy it for what it is.

But life wouldn’t be interesting if things always stayed exactly the same. The whole meaning of life has something to do with creation. And so changes occur… and depending on what the change is: f.e. the new outlook lay-out of my http://www.hotmail.com account, they will have a bigger or smaller impact. And even though you might understand that there are some improvements and it is for the best in the end… at first you often won’t like it when it’s happening.

I first hated the new lay out of my Hotmail account, just like I hate every single change they’ve made on Facebook. Seriously: where are the good old days??

Another example: I hated it when I lost my job two years ago and I didn’t have any place to go. You can realize how meaningless life feels when you only have hobby’s and no income. Lucky for me: I was still living at my mom’s house.
My boss owed me 6000 euro’s and I only got them after 3 months of waiting and suffering. Part of the 6000 euro’s was money I got because they decided to let me go. I was actually able to use that money to buy furniture and to move into my own rental house a few months later.
I still have 1500 euro’s of that money on my savings account today and now I am doing the job I actually went to college for.

This ruin was a gift in disguise.

I hate the situation I’m in today. I was afraid of committing to my ex boyfriend in the first place and when we were together I was afraid of losing him. I’m hoping this ruin will be a gift aswell, knowing only time can tell.

Change is necessary and a natural element in this world. We can not resist it, we can only try to make the best out of it. In the end it are not the changes in life that define you: it’s how you deal with it, what you’ve learned out of it and how your future has been improved because of it.

“Sometimes things fall apart so that better things can fall together” – Marilyn Monroe (my all time idol)

Tell me how your life has been effected by changes in the past. How did you deal with them, have they improved your life? What have you learned?

“This life is what you make it. No matter what, you’re going to mess up sometimes, it’s a universal truth. But the good part is you get to decide how you’re going to mess it up. Girls will be your friends – they’ll act like it anyway. But just remember, some come, some go. The ones that stay with you through everything – they’re your true best friends. Don’t let go of them. Also remember, sisters make the best friends in the world. As for lovers, well, they’ll come and go too. And baby, I hate to say it, most of them – actually pretty much all of them are going to break your heart, but you can’t give up because if you give up, you’ll never find your soul mate. You’ll never find that half who makes you whole and that goes for everything. Just because you fail once, doesn’t mean you’re gonna fail at everything. Keep trying, hold on, and always, always, always believe in yourself, because if you don’t, then who will, sweetie? So keep your head high, keep your chin up, and most importantly, keep smiling, because life’s a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about.”― Marilyn Monroe

Leave a Reply

