Dignified

I think she’s the saddest girl ever to hold a martini.
– Sofia in Vanilla sky

love-photography-fan-23100493-500-375_large

Another one of my favorite movie-quotes. It concerns Julie Gianni (Cameron Diaz) the embittered ex-girlfriend of the main character of the movie; David. David never actually really showed Julie any respect, he just led her on and when he falls in love (at first sight) with someone else: Julie’s entire world falls apart.
Since she had placed all her eggs in one basket: his…

Somewhere in another movie “He’s just not that into you”, you have Beth Murphy (Jennifer Aniston), who has always been in a slightly better situation than Julie Gianni and handles the break up with her partner of 7 years with an inspiring amount of dignity. Instead of turning herself into the saddest girl ever to hold a martini, or ever to do anything really… she didn’t change to some kind of loser after losing what ended up to be the man of her life. I think in the end she had her eggs placed in more than just one basket and she knew that if it wasn’t going to be this man, something better must and will come along.

I want to be that woman.

I want to be her, for myself, because I deserve more than just to pine away over some man who didn’t deserve my best. I deserve, just like we all deserve, to have a wonderful life in which I get to experience everything that I desire and lies in my possibilities…
and where I learn to cope with the good and the bad, the sweet and the sour.

And that’s why I keep on repeating how important it is to choose yourself over anybody else. If it’s meant to be it will happen: (I need to) learn to have faith :)

Leave a Reply

